What I’ve read the last week…

IMWAYR Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee at Unleashing Readers host an opportunity for people to share what they’ve been reading over the past week. I thought I’d join up this week and give it go.

It’s been a surprising slow week for me, in terms of reading. School vacations do that to me. It should be the perfect time to read tons, but as is typical with me when I get off my regular schedule, I read less. Oh well, so be it.

I did finish a few things last week.

gronkcover I read this one through NetGalley the other day. I’m always looking to find fun, quality comics/graphic novels to the library and this one will fit the bill for many students. I wrote a more in-depth post here.

 

shadowscale Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman was brilliant and complex and had me completely drawn in for weeks. Took me a while to get through it because I wanted to savor it. Her writing is beautiful. More of my thoughts in a later, more detailed post.

churchill cover The Churchill Club by Phillip Hoose has been fairly intriguing so far. I do love me some grippy nonfiction, and WWII is always a big hit around my library. Looking forward to finishing it.

 

Well, in the grand scheme of things, that looks rather lame. This post will have to be incentive for next week to be a better reading week. All my train commuting time should give me more reading time. Especially since the MBTA has decided it can’t function in cold and snow and has often added hours to my day. See you next week.

10 thoughts on “What I’ve read the last week…

  1. Karen Yingling February 23, 2015 / 11:53 am

    It always made me feel better to be riding a bus than driving. Now I walk, which is even better– not so cold once you bundle up. Harder to read, though. Love the blog name, with testing I sort of want to run away myself today!

    Like

    • runawaylibrarian February 23, 2015 / 6:20 pm

      Ha, yes I came up with the name in the middle of this crazy New England winter when the notion of running away was very strong.

      Like

  2. Andrea Payan (@payanar) February 23, 2015 / 2:27 pm

    Gronk looks like a fun book. I am always looking for more graphic novels to add to my class library collection. I am in the middle of Shadow Scale now. I am really loving it! Have a great reading week!

    Like

    • runawaylibrarian February 23, 2015 / 6:21 pm

      Front was totally cute, pretty sure a bunch of my students will think so too.

      Like

  3. cheriee February 23, 2015 / 4:58 pm

    I’ve got Shadow Scale waiting for me. I think I’m going to wait til Spring Break when I can savor each beautiful word. I’m no sure if I want to read your post about it before or after I read it! The Churchill Club sounds like a fabulous read. I can see many of my young war fanatics devouring it.

    Like

    • runawaylibrarian February 23, 2015 / 6:22 pm

      The Churchill Club has been great but it always takes me longer to get through than fiction of equal length. Sigh.

      Like

  4. Myra GB February 23, 2015 / 6:17 pm

    Hmm. This is the second time that I’ve seen Shadow Scale – now I’m really excited to find Seraphina. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

