It’s Been a Rough Few Weeks

IMWAYR

It’s Monday! Nearly, anyway. Jen at Teach Mentor Texts hosts a kidlit version of what Sheila at Book Journey hosts on her blog. An opportunity to share the love of good books. What’s not to love?

Hmmm… I see my last post was March 22, not good. I wish I could say I’ve been reading like a fiend and this post will be huge and chock full of tidbits about amazing books, but somehow I don’t think that’s what happened over the last month.

Looking backwards…

-A week of school vacation that was meant to be full of gardening prep. Cleaning out the raised beds, unearthing porch furniture, etc… But, alas, the weather didn’t cooperate. It snowed at least one of those days, and was mostly cold and grey, so I couldn’t muster a whole lot of energy for that kind of stuff.

-The week before school vacation I was, for all intents and purposes, shut out of the library. We had had major ice dam damage throughout the  very rough winter, and so there was crew in the library pulling down sheetrock, drying out walls, cleaning up whatever mold/mildew started to grow and then putting it all back together again. Library, I will be happy to see you again, but not so psyched about moving 2000-odd books back on their shelves. Time to weed!

And the rest? Who knows? I can’t remember that far back. But, I’m off to check my GoodReads and see what I have been reading. There was some good stuff in there, I feel confident.

There is! Easily the best book I’ve read in the past year (maybe longer).

20912424

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. I’m not quite sure why I loved this book so much, I’d need to read it again to really pinpoint it, but I loved Ada and her way of looking at the world. Her strength, her weaknesses, her love for her brother. Beautifully written, perfect in length (though I wanted it go on and on) and poignant with a side of funny. I’m not giving it justice here. Go. Read. It. Now. 

Get20697547 Happy by Mary Amato. I really enjoyed this YA title from Amato, I’d only read her middle grade stuff before, so this was a fun adventure. Minerva is desperate to buy herself a ukulele, desperate enough to dress up as the Little Mermaid and go to birthday parties. She’s not one to let little things like crushes or absent fathers get in her way. Light, but totally fun.

22477292Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall. Another easy, fun read. This one kept me entertained on my long train commutes, even laughed out loud once or twice. Young Alice Dare is one of about 300 kids evacuated to Mars after Earth has been attacked by an alien species. They are there to train to become the next warriors in the battle for Earth, but once the all the adults disappear, things go south quickly. Survival is the name of the game. Mars is not the most hospitable of planets.

I’ll leave it at that. There are probably more, but this post is long enough. I’ve got a few I’m working on now, need to have something for next week.

Have a great week everyone! Can’t wait to see what other people are reading, I need some good suggestions. We’ll be working on our summer reading lists and I’m always on the hunt for something the kids haven’t read yet.

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Been a Rough Few Weeks

  1. Holly Mueller April 27, 2015 / 10:25 am

    It had been a long time since I posted a #IMWAYR, too. I’ve heard SO much about The War That Saved My Life. Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  2. The Styling Librarian April 27, 2015 / 10:26 am

    Interesting to read your opinion of The War That Saved My Life, another person didn’t enjoy as much. Shall look forward to reading soon. Good luck with weeding/moving back books, what a trial… but on the good side you’ll see thoroughly what’s in the collection… Happy reading week to you.

    Like

  3. lauricoo April 27, 2015 / 11:25 am

    The War that Saved My Life–soooo good. Definitely worth the read–I didn’t want it to end.

    Like

  4. Karen Yingling April 27, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    Oh, no! This is why I worry whenever I see a leak in the ceiling tiles. I hope that things get moved back quickly, and that not much was damaged. Will think good thoughts. Loved Mars Evacuees, and The War That Saved My Life has done better than I expected.

    Like

  5. Cheriee Weichel April 27, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Get Happy sounds like a delightful read. I’m sure my readers who enjoyed Guitar Notes would like it. I keep hearing really good things about The War That Saved My Life. It’s on my list so I’ll probably get to it eventually!

    Like

  6. Myra GB April 28, 2015 / 10:39 am

    We had a Science Fiction theme last year – the Mars Evacuees title would have been a great addition to the list of books we featured. The War That Saved My Life sounds like a great read. Good luck on putting the books back to their old homes. 🙂

    Like

  7. bluestockingthinking May 3, 2015 / 10:10 pm

    I’m definitely looking forward to reading The War that Saved My Life, even more so now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

